As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Winners 2018


 Every year, QSF holds a flash fiction contest to create an amazing new anthology of queer speculative fiction stories. We ask authors to do the nearly-impossible – to submit a sci fi, fantasy, paranormal or horror LGBTIQA story that has no more than 300 words.

Our 2018 contest closed on April 1st, 2018. The theme for 2018 was “Impact.”

These are alpha by author:

Colton Aalto, LA, Circa 1980
R.R. Angell, Railgun Impact
Blaine D. Arden, Welcome – HM
Anne Barwell, Moutoa
Sally Bend, Taking Her Place
Evelyn Benvie, The Earth Looks After Her Own – HM
Sadie Rose Bermingham, Waiting for Michael – HM
Eytan Bernstein, Fangs & Floss – HM
Rose Blackthorn, 20/20 Hindsight – HM
Hildie S. Block, Maybe So
Jillian Bost, Come to You
Katelyn Cameron, A Roll of the Dice
Steve Carr, Together, Again
Foster Bridget Cassidy, Mas Mabuti Ang Aswang – HM
Alicia Cole, The Stars Are Knocking
Rob Colton, Secret Identity
Carey Ford Compton, Stranded at the Mouth of the Time-Tunnel, Gilchrist Loses a Lucky Penny – HM – Judge’s Choice, S R Jones
Dale Corvino, Love Tap
Monique Cuillerier, The Moment Of
Riza Curtis, Grand Aspirations – HM
Ashby Danvers, Wind Tossed
Andi Deacon, Whither Ararat – HM
Jana Denardo, Apparition Adventure
Kellie Doherty, The Sacred Shadow – HM
Matt Doyle, The Soul Star – HM
Jude Dunn, In Five… Four… Three… – HM
J. P. Egry, Earth to Earth
Tray Ellis, Low Tech Impact – HM, Judge’s Choice, Siri Paulson
KC Faelan, Day One
Ilona Fenton & Ayla O’Donovan, Deadline
Kim Fielding, Imp Act
LE Franks, How Humanity Survived A Fisting From The Titans
J.R. Frontera, Two Hearts
Steve Fuson, Line of Fire
Trip Galey, Godfather of the Brides
Faith Gibson, Not Really a Choice
M.D. Grimm, Renovations – HM
G. Halasz, Three Grains of Sand
E.M. Hamill, Quintessence – HM
Dianne Hartsock, Jealousy
Olivia Helling, Long Live the Tyrant King
Hannah Henry, Ripples and Regret
Joshua Ian, Counter Strike – HM
Bryony Kayn, Love and Sacrifice
Riley S. Keene, The Heat of the Dragon
April Kelley, Disappear
M. X. Kelly, Cyborg Hearts Don’t Break
Ava Kelly, A Little Bump – HM
Cam Kennedy, Oh Muddy Day
Elizabeth Kilcoyne, Final Impression – HM
Cynthia Kimball, Moment of Awareness
Louise M. Kiner, A Test of Loyalties
Kevin Klehr, Civil War – HM
Kora Knight, Crater Lake
Morticia Knight, Dream a Little Dream
Jack Ladd, Impact
Aidee Ladnier, Settled – HM
Andrea Lambert, The Dead
Amir Lane, Indestructible – 3rd Place
A.M. Leibowitz, Misfortune – HM – Judge’s Choice, Angel Martinez
Tia Liet, Cradled in Space
Enne Lilly, A Fair Trade
Daniel Linde-Zwirble, A Coven of Three – HM
L.V. Lloyd, Legacy
Jayne Lockwood, A Date With History
Clare London, All About Eve – HM – Judge’s Choice B.A. Brock
Nathan Alling Long, Crossville Station
Lucy Marker, Remember
Belinda McBride, If You Fall Off, Don’t Let Go
Brett Steven McKenzie, Momentary Impact
Lloyd A. Meeker, Eye of the Beholder
R.L. Merrill, Tap-Tap-Tap – HM
Eloreen Moon, The Touch of G
Robert A. Morrison, Awaken=[ME]
RL Mosswood, Moon Shadow – HM
Siobhan Muir, No Good Deed Goes Unpunished
E.W. Murks, The Last Goodbye
Laure Nepenthes, Rivalry
Rory Ni Coileain, A Terrible Beauty Is Born
Brenda Noiseux, You Can’t Rush the Kimchi – 1st Place
Bradley Robert Parks, Thirteen Nails – HM
Pelaam, Changeling – HM
LJ Phillips, Visitors – HM
Isa Prospero, Amends
Wendy Rathbone, Half Light – HM
Harry F. Rey, I, Enlil – HM
dave ring (req’d lower case), Clickbait – 2nd Place
Rob Rosen, Little Head, Big head, Big head
Rodney Ross, Signing Off
Patricia Scott, Impact of Intervention
Mindy Leana Shuman, At Cliff’s Edge – HM
LM Somerton, I.M.P.A.C.T. (Interplanetary Military Police Alien Control Team) – HM
Rin Sparrow, Sickle in the Sky
Andrea Speed, Quiet
Nevi Star and Dani Hermit, Mourning
Albert Stewart, The I in Consent
Ginger Streusel, First Bout: Andromedolls vs. Crotch Rockets – Director’s Choice, J. Scott Coatsworth
Lou Sylvre, Shatter – HM, Judge’s Choice, Carole Cummings
Naomi Tajedler, Golden Fleece
Jo Tannah, Identity and Change
C. M. Taylor, The Festival of the Arrival – HM
Liz Tetu, Move
Karen Thrower, Thunk
K.S. Trenten, The Closet – HM
Sara L. Uckelman, The Bargain
Jean-Paul Whitehall, “Anything is Possible” Day – HM
Kethric Wilcox, Death’s Kiss
Christine Wright, Unparalleled
Victoria Zelvin, Athena
E R Zhang, The Tiger’s Tooth

Previous Editions

For our first year, the theme was “Endings”. To see the top three stories and the three honorable mentions from 2014, click here.

To see the rest of the submissions from 2014 (where the authors gave us the go-ahead to post them), click here.

For the second year, the theme was “Discovery”. To see the winners and honorable mentions from 2015, click here. A selection of the stories from 2015 are available in eBook form here.

For the third year, the theme was “Flight”. To see the winners and honorable mentions from 2016, click here.

For the fourth year, the theme was “Renewal”. To see the winners and honorable mentions from 2017, click here.

Join Our Newsletter List, Get 4 Free Books

File Type Preferred *
Privacy *
Queer Sci Fi Newsletter Consent *
Please consider also subscribing to the newsletters of the authors who are providing these free eBooks to you.
Author Newsletter Consent *
Check your inbox to confirm your addition to the list(s)