We use Amazon Associate links to help support the site and the work we do.

Announcement: Poseidon & Cleito, by Andrew J. Peters

Poseidon and CleitoQSFer Andrew J. Peters has a new mythological fantasy book out:

NEW TITLE IMAGINES ATLANTIS AS REAL WORLD PREHISTORY

Edge Science Fiction and Fantasy is pleased to announce the release of Andrew J. Peters’ fourth book Poseidon and Cleito, the story of how Poseidon became Poseidon and an intriguing portrait of the woman who Plato mentioned as his wife.

In the tradition of David Gemmell and Guy Gavriel Kay, Peters reimagines a well-known mythological character from a human perspective while illuminating a minor, female figure who was relegated to the margins by writers of the age.

Says Peters, “I consider Poseidon and Cleito my most ambitious book to date. Everyone knows Poseidon. It’s almost sacrosanct to break from the canon in portraying him. But I’ve always been curious about the origins of myths and the possibility that men became gods through the passing down of sagas that were embellished over the centuries. Similarly, I wanted to give a voice to a character who the Greeks didn’t tell us much about. Why didn’t Plato have more to say about Poseidon’s wife Cleito, other than putting her name in as a place-keeper in his very detailed account of the history of Atlantis?”

With rich description of its prehistorical setting, Poseidon and Cleito is parts speculative biography, a complex love story, and an action-adventure seasoned with a touch of fantasy. Peters plans to launch a series from this first book in his Atlantis saga.

“Poseidon and Cleito explores the Atlantis story from its early years,” Peters says. “It’s a kingdom that lasted for many centuries, and this first book provides some hints of what led to its demise and erasure from history. A mysterious magical element is introduced that will be developed more in future installments.”

The book is available through Kindle Exclusive through November, with worldwide retail release on December 5th.

Peters is best known for his portrayal of gay characters in mythic fantasy via The Seventh Pleiade, a 2014 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mention, and his 2015 title Banished Sons of Poseidon. Both took inspiration from the Atlantis legend.

Says Peters, “I guess I’ve become an Atlantologist like Lewis Spence and Edgar Cayce. I’m drawn to conspiracies.” On writing a book with heterosexual characters and relationships, he says he was undaunted. “In a way, Poseidon and Cleito is a prequel to my earlier work, and I handled the material with the same subversive approach, though not with the specific intention of ‘queering’ popular mythology. That didn’t feel right for this particular story. But there are gay supporting characters and bisexual supporting characters. I don’t think I’ll ever write a story in which queer characters don’t exist.”


ARC

Exclusive for Queer Sci Fi members, the author will provide a limited number of e-ARCs for the purpose of early reviews. Email Andrew if you are interested at [email protected].


Buy Links

Amazon


Author Bio

Andrew J. Peters is an author, an educator, and an activist. His Werecat series was a finalist in The Romance Reviews’ Readers’ Choice Awards. His début young adult novel The Seventh Pleiade garnered a 2014 Rainbow Awards Honorable Mention. His other books include Banished Sons of Poseidon, Poseidon and Cleito, and The City of Seven Gods. He was recently included in Loop Magazine’s “Four Must-Read Authors with Buffalo Ties.”

Andrew grew up in Amherst, New York, studied psychology at Cornell University, and has spent most of his career as a social worker and an advocate for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender youth.

Most of Andrew’s work takes inspiration from mythological themes, but as a young writer, he adored Agatha Christie. At Smallwood Elementary School, he was briefly a literary celebrity when his school principal invited him to read from his novel Murder at Moosewood Mansion over the P.A. system at lunch.

Website: http://andrewjpeterswrites.com

Email: [email protected]

Leave a Comment