As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

New Release: The Sins on their Bones – Laura R. Samotin

The Sins on Their Bones - Laura R. Samotin

Laura R. Samotin has a new queer grimdark fantasy out (Ace, Bi, Gay, Non-Binary, Aromantic): The Sins on Their Bones. Set in a Jewish folklore-inspired reimagining of 19th century Eastern Europe, this queer dark fantasy debut pits two estranged husbands and a daring spymaster on opposite sides of a civil war. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, C.S. Pacat, and Katherine Arden. Dimitri Alexeyev used to be the Tzar of Novo-Svitsevo. Now, he is merely a broken man, languishing in exile after losing a devastating civil war instigated by his estranged husband, Alexey Balakin. In hiding with what remains of … Read more

Review: Rise – QSF’s 10th Annual Flash Fiction Contest

Rise

Genre: Fantasy, Horror, Paranormal, Sci-Fi LGBTQ+ Category: Ace, Bi, Gay, Gender Fluid, Intersex, Lesbian, Non-Binary, Pansexual, Poly, Transgender Reviewer: Ulysses, Paranormal Romance Guild Amazon | B&N | Bookshop.org | Google Play | iBooks | Kobo | Scribd | Smashwords | Thalia | Vivlio | Publisher/UBL About The Book RISE (noun / verb) Eight definitions to inspire writers around the world, and an unlimited number of possible stories to tell: 1) An upward slope or movement2) A beginning or origin3) An increase in amount or number4) An angry reaction5) To take up arms6) To return from death7) To become heartened or … Read more

New Release / Giveaway: Rise – Queer Sci Fi’s 10th Flash Fiction Contest

Rise

Queer Sci Fi has a new flash fiction anthology out: Rise. And there’s a giveaway. RISE (Noun, Verb) Eight definitions to inspire writers around the world, and an unlimited number of possible stories to tell: Rise features 300-word speculative flash fiction stories from across the rainbow spectrum, from the minds of the writers of Queer Sci Fi. About the Series Every year, Queer Sci Fi runs a one-word theme contest for 300 word flash fiction stories, and then we choose 120 of the best for our annual anthology. Publisher | Amazon | Apple Books | Barnes & Noble | Bookshop.org | … Read more

New Release: Runes of Fall – A.K. Faulkner

Runes of Fall - AK Faulkner

QSFer A.K. Faulkner has a new queer urban fantasy book out, Inheritance book nine (ace, bi, demi, lesbian, non-binry): Runes of Fall. No storm bows to reason. Quentin’s trip to the desert with his chosen family is supposed to be two days of testing the limits of their powers. Instead, a violent storm looms on the horizon, and nothing will alter its course. The storm has a name: Nate Anderson. Demigod, supremacist, leader of a neo-Nazi Übermensch cabal… and father to Quentin’s latest ward, Mel. He means to take her home, and won’t let a ragtag group of “inferior” psychics … Read more

Review: Alia Terra – Ava Kelly, Illustrated by Matthew Spencer

Alia Terra: Stories from the Dragon Realm

Genre: Fairy Tales LGBTQ+ Category: Multiple Reviewer: Jay Get It On Amazon About The Book Through three all-ages fairy tales of kindness and acceptance, presented in English and Romanian, Alia Terra: Stories from the Dragon Realm draws from personal experiences, Romanian folklore with Dacian roots, and our fundamental need—to believe in ourselves. Richly illustrated by Michigan artist Matthew Spencer in shades of color and gender, the words of Ava Kelly assure that we all belong. “From aromanticism to nonbinary gender, LGBTQIA+ themes in Alia Terra are always portrayed with a gentle kindness that we need in our lives, and an … Read more

Review: The Southern Magicks – Ashton K. Rose

The Southern Magicks - Ashton K. Rose

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance LGBTQ+ Category: Trans Man, Bisexual, Achillean Bisexual, Pansexual, Non-Binary, Lesbian, Homoromantic Asexual, Poly, Gay, Aromantic Asexual Reviewer: Maryann Get It On Amazon About The Book A month ago, a demon tore the thin veneer of a normal life I’d crafted apart when it almost killed me. Revealing my husband, Eli, as the prodigal son of a powerful magic family. When I grew up, I walked away from magic. Left my remote hometown and pretended the ghosts Gran taught me to see weren’t there while I went to university to become a librarian. Our one secret tightly … Read more

New Release / Giveaway: Clarity Anthology

Queer Sci Fi’s newest LGBTQ+ speculative fiction anthology is here: Clarity. And there’s a giveaway. Clarity (noun) Four definitions to inspire writers around the world and an unlimited number of possible stories to tell: 1) Coherent and intelligible2) Transparent or pure3) Attaining certainty about something4) Easy to see or hear Clarity features 300-word speculative flash fiction stories from across the rainbow spectrum, from the minds of the writers of Queer Sci Fi. About the Series: Every year, Queer Sci Fi runs a one-word theme contest for 300 word flash fiction stories, and then we choose 120 of the best for … Read more

NEW RELEASE: Alia Terra: Stories from the Dragon Realm – Ava Kelly

Alia Terra: Stories from the Dragon Realm

QSFer Ava Kelly has a beautifully illustrated new queer fantasy/fairy tale book out, filled with all the colors of the LGBTQ+ rainbow: Alia Terra. Alia Terra: Stories from the Dragon Realm draws from personal experiences, Romanian folklore with Dacian roots, and our fundamental need—to believe in ourselves. Richly illustrated by Michigan artist Matthew Spencer in shades of color and gender, the words of Ava Kelly assure that we all belong. This storybook contains gentle references to ideas of captivity and coping with societal expectations. One scene depicts an in-progress injury and moment of fright, and several pages take place underwater. … Read more

What the World Gets Wrong About Aromantic People

Yasmin Benoit - Twitter

We talk a lot about sexual orientation, but we don’t talk nearly enough about romantic orientation – that’s something Yasmin Benoit is trying to change. Yasmin is an asexual and aromantic activist who is working tirelessly to make sure the world knows that not everybody experiences romantic attraction in the same way. Part of the challenge for activists like Yasmin is that huge swathes of the population still don’t understand what aromanticism is. Many don’t even realise there’s a difference between sexual and romantic attraction. Simply put, aromanticism describes people who feel little or no romantic attraction. Like all things … Read more

There May Be Twice As many American Queer People As We Thought

Pride Flag - Deposit Photos

The results of an experimental study suggests the LGBT+ population of the United States may now be over 20 million, double the numbers previously thought. The US Census Bureau’s Household Pulse Survey is an experimental, short-term survey designed to help officials gather data during the pandemic, with participants randomly selected to take part. A further two per cent of participants identified with a different sexual orientation to straight, lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender, which could include those who are pansexual or asexual. The survey suggests that bisexual people make up the largest demographic in the LGBT+ community, with about four … Read more